Peach Trees Light Up The Old Hen House – And Vice Versa

From Gene Logsdon
Garden Farm Skills

I live in the wrong climate to be a peach lover. But after many years of trying to outwit or out-wait winter freezes and spring frosts, I have learned how to enjoy at least a few peaches almost every year and in some years, lots of peaches. Strangely enough, the hen house that you see in the picture behind the blossoming peach trees is part of the key to success. Actually, the chickens you see under the trees are the secret, not the hen house itself.

It’s a long story, dating back to when I was a child playing with my cousins on their farm across the fields from ours. My aunt had a big white clingstone peach tree in her chicken lot. We boys would hide up in the tree where Aunt Stella couldn’t see us from the house and gorge on her precious peaches. The fact that there might be some connection between the peaches and the chickens never dawned on me until years later.

All of my early efforts at growing peaches failed not so much because of late frosts but because the trees would become infested with peach tree borers by the time they started bearing, and I could find no effective way to control them organically (and not much better luck using poisons). That’s when I wondered about how Aunt Stella could enjoy a peach tree that had to be at least 30 years old. When I read that chickens can control peach borers by eating the eggs and larvae that the adult borer insects lay in the soil and debris around the peach tree roots and trunks, I slowly made the connection.

I actually didn’t even plant the trees you see in the picture. We had been feeding the leftover skins from canning purchased peaches to the chickens and threw out the pits with them. Some of pits sprouted and grew— and still do. I did not expect much from these trees, since they were seedlings, not grafted varieties, but about half of them eventually produced very nice peaches indeed. Those that didn’t I cut down and new seedlings eventually took their places. There are seven bearing trees presently. I could have more, but that’s enough. I have learned that when the blossoms are large, pink, and open up widely, the fruit will be better than from the trees whose blossoms are redder and do not open up fully.

Because the hen house sits in the woods, the area right around it is partially protected from late frost by woodland trees hovering nearby. Sometimes even a degree or two of temperature can make a difference. I feed the chickens their grain and the table scraps under the trees in summer and so they scratch around there, finding the borers and keeping the soil partially bare, which peach trees like. The chicken manure makes good fertilizer too. Water off surrounding buildings also provides a little free irrigation during dry summers. I’ve never sprayed these trees with anything, organic or chemical. They get a fungal disease called peach leaf curl in the spring sometimes, but grow out of it by midsummer. They start bearing in their fourth year usually.

I am tempted to philosophize. We have essentially provided ourselves with peaches for free. My favorite advice to homesteaders has always been not to do anything that can be put off until tomorrow because tomorrow you might not have to do it at all. Add to that the following: Don’t do anything that you can get nature to do for you.
~~
Gene and Carol Logsdon have a small-scale experimental farm in Wyandot County, Ohio.
Gene is author of
The Mother of All Arts: Agrarianism and the Creative Impulse (Culture of the Land)
and The Last of the Husbandmen: A Novel of Farming Life
Photo Credit: Gene Logsdon
OrganicToBe.org | OrganicToGo.com
Gene’s Posts

[Permanent Link][Top]

3 Comments

Christina, The fruit nurseries won’t appreciate me this time, but what I would do is buy some white cling peaches at a store or market, or “borrow” a few from someone who grows white clingstones, and plant the seeds. You never know what you will get, but I have had fairly good luck starting peach trees this way. Adventuresome too. You might get a throwback that’s not much good, but there is always the slim chance that you will get the greatest white clingstone every grown. Gene Logsdon

Christina Robison June 20, 2008 at 7:37 am

Dear Gene,
I discovered your book Organic Orcharding, A Grove of Trees to Live In, and have been transformed. Finally, a blueprint for how life ought to be! Your vast knowledge, your wit, excellent powers of observation have me in awe. I am so grateful. We just put in our antique apples, two peach and apricot. (We’re working on some nut trees.) I am currently on the hunt for the old, white cling peach you describe in your book, American Heath, or anything close! I found a source to special order a White Heath Cling from Bay Laurel Nursery in CA. Any suggestions sir?
Thank you again for giving me such a tremendous source of happiness. With your book in hand I feel confident in achieving the transformation of our 26 acres in Upstate, making it a happier place for my husband, myself, the animals and the environment.
Most Sincerely,
Christina!

I’ve heard the same can work with apples and some of their pests (plum curculio for example. These trees (or at least the ancestors of these trees) managed to thrive without us, so maybe letting natural processes work is the best. I’m planning on trying apples and a few other fruit trees on my place soon. My chickens already do a great job cleaning up the pasture and the garden.

Please leave your comments...

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>